Craft Certification Scheme

The Craft Certification Scheme

Accredited Certification

The Craft Certification Scheme, run by the Dry Stone Walling Association of Great Britain (DSWA) in conjunction with Lantra Awards, offers a series of nationally recognised qualifications in dry stone walling. This gives candidates the opportunity to gain a vocational qualification in dry stone walling at the following levels:

  • Level 1 – Initial
  • Level 2 – Intermediate
  • Level 3 – Advanced.

We don’t run any specific courses for these qualifications as they build on the basics and usually require practise, practise and more practise. If you attend our events you can practise and get hints and tips from our professionals and other members.  Most levels involve a timed test on specific aspects of dry-stone walling.

Yearly, we offer the use of our training site for the practical tests in these UK nationally recognised qualifications. Additionally, the permanent nature of the site means candidates have great flexibility in scheduling practise times to suit themselves – and we often run practice days close to the test dates.

There are usually two ways of getting ready for these advanced tests.

  1. Take an Introduction course and then practise at other events/builds or up at the test site until you feel you are ready.
  2. You may have an apprenticeship with a waller and be getting plenty of practise that way.

You book in for the Certification test when you are ready.   That can be done on the National DSWA website at  There is plenty of information on that site, including the Certification Scheme booklet, prices and application forms etc.   Other information can be found on the Lantra Awards site.

Training Site

Our gallery